Invest in excellent schools!

 f t  Donate Now

2016 ITE Award Winners

We are pleased to feature the winners of the 2016 CEEF Innovative Technology Educator (ITE) Award. The Innovative Technology Educator Award was created in 2011 in partnership with CUSD to acknowledge innovative instructional technology practices developed by teachers throughout the district.  These teachers have shown creativity and innovation in their classroom, providing an amazing learning experience for their students.

Overall Winners

Hannah Sun, 6th Grade Language Arts/Social Studies teacher at Kennedy Middle School for her Democracy Project, a fitting project this year.  Her use of technology to provide background and choice was impressive and her students’ approaches to real world issues and outreach  to the community were exemplary as a model of 21st century learning. View below or click here to see video.


Derrall Garrison, 5th Grade Language Arts/Science teacher at Meyerholz Elementary School for his alternative energy project. His students utilized an extensive variety of technologies (including 3D printers for models) and developed proposals in a collaborative fashion.  Their STEM approach to a  real world problem was very impressive.  View below or click here to see video.


Kendall Robowski

Ms. Robowski was recently featured in an NBC Bay Area Report on her Facetime Friday’s. Check it out here.

1st Grade teacher at Montclaire Elementary School for her work in reaching beyond the classroom to enrich learning opportunities for her students. Her program was “Facetime Fridays,” where her students utilize technology to learn from people outside of the classroom as well as document and reflect on their learnings from these experiences. The Fireman Ride-long was one learning opportunity the judges wished they could have experienced with her students! View below or click here to see video.

Category Winners

Kelly Galante, 3rd grade teacher from Montclaire is the winner of the Creativity and Innovation category. She received this award based on her outstanding work in using technology to move her classroom to a more student driven environment  as well as extensive utilization of technology in creative projects by her students.  The judges were very impressed with her students ability to choose the appropriate technology for various projects. View below or click here to see video.


Stephanie Ou, 5th grade teacher at Stocklmeir is the winner of the Maker category for Elementary schools for her use of Dash Robots and blockly to integrate coding into her math curriculum, allowing her students to demonstrate a deeper mathematical understanding in a collaborative setting. View below or click here to see video.


Moriah Tenney, 4th grade teacher at Montclaire is the winner of the Differentiation category in Elementary schools for her use of iPads allowing student created and solved word problems.  They showed critical thinking and demonstrated problem solving, working at a variety of levels while focusing on the learning involved.View below or click here to see video.